Using Drobo with Time Machine or backup software

Article Id: AA-00911 Last updated date: 11-30-2017

Drobo introduces the ability to create a dedicated backup volume for use with OS X Time Machine, Windows Backup and Restore, or other backup software. The backup volume is compatible with encrypted backup options. This article will show you how to set it up. 

Creating a backup volume
These steps will create a fixed-size backup volume that will appear as a new disk, separate from your main Drobo volume. Having this dedicated, fixed-size backup volume will prevent backup software from filling your main Drobo volume with daily backups. 

Follow these steps: 


  1. Open Drobo Dashboard, and wait for your Drobo to appear under All Drobos. 
  2. Double-click the image of your Drobo 

  3. Click Volumes.
  4. Click the Enable Backup button.

  5. Enter a name for your backup volume and the desired size (GB). 

  6. Click OK
  7. When you see the "Confirm Restart" dialog, take a moment to stop any activity on the Drobo, because it must restart. When you are ready, click Yes to continue. 
  8. Wait until you receive the message that "Volume management changes have been made successfully," then click OK
  9. Now you will see the backup volume you created listed under Volumes. You may now close Drobo Dashboard. 
  10. To finish the process, open the settings for your third-party backup software, such as Time Machine, and select the backup volume that you created as the destination volume.